Importance of student politics

PhDs of India
2 min readMay 29, 2024

--

“I was born into an academically vibrant family that fostered my academic aspirations. My mother and grandmother, both educators, instilled in me the importance of higher education. My exposure to academic terms like “MPhil” and “PhD” came from my Geography teacher, but my interest in political science blossomed in Standard XI when I chose Humanities.

Believing that societal decisions are heavily influenced by politics, I sought to understand it from an academic perspective. Initially, I planned to pursue an MPhil after my Master’s, but rejection from all 4 applications left me disheartened and questioning my abilities. However, my luck took a turn for the better. I applied for a PhD at Rabindra-Bharati University and despite my doubts, encouragement from those around me led me to approach the interview with a relaxed mindset, resulting in my selection.

But the COVID lockdown delayed my coursework, extending a 6-month program to nearly 2 years. This period brought significant uncertainties about my future employment. Looking back, I wish I had utilized it more effectively.

For my PhD, I chose to research student politics, comparing the 2014–2019 period, often termed an undeclared emergency, with the official Emergency of 1975–1977. Due to media censorship in the 1970s, my research relies heavily on primary sources. Conducting online interviews has eased my research process, and my supervisor’s support allowed me to work as a guest lecturer, fulfilling a long-held aspiration. His flexibility also facilitated my move to Gujarat for an Assistant Professor position which was crucial for my professional growth.

Reflecting on my journey, I recognize the financial privileges that helped me overcome hurdles many in Humanities face. Today, PhD admissions are more competitive. I advise prospective PhD candidates not to wait for opportunities in government institutes, particularly in Bengal, where quality and admission ratios have declined. While private institutes often face prejudice, it’s important to keep an open mind and consider all available options.”

-Prantik Basak, PhD in Political Science, Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata

Interviewed and written by Payel Das

--

--

PhDs of India

Inspired from HONY and HOB; bringing you stories of unsung heroes of our society: PhD students. For sharing yours, email us at: phdsofindia@gmail.com!